About the Symposium

The main goals of the Symposium are to gain experience in presenting scientific results, exchange knowledge and ideas, popularize science and develop young scientists in the STEM field.

PhD Student Symposium is attended by doctoral students from all over Croatia, but also from other countries such as Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Czech Republic. Every year the Symposium gathers more than 200 active and passive participants. The first symposium was held in 2016 on the occasion of two significant jubilees, 140 years of organized scientific and teaching work in science and mathematics at the University of Zagreb, and 70 years of the Faculty of Science.

The Symposium is a two-day event, where PhD students of the Faculty of Science and related studies present their scientific research to colleagues, mentors and teachers of doctoral studies, as well as scientists from related faculties and institutes, in the form of oral presentations and poster presentations. During the Symposium, attendees will have the opportunity to participate in a variety of workshops addressing the challenges faced by every young scientist and to meet the Symposium sponsors and possible future employers.

To complement the academic and professional aspects, the Symposium is renowned for its vibrant entertainment program. Attendees can enjoy drinks, food and quizzes, creating a perfect atmosphere for informal interactions and the forging of new friendships and collaborations.

Scientific Committee

Prof. Marijana Đaković, Vice Dean for Science

Prof. Branimir Bertoša

Prof. Petra Korać

Prof. Aleksandar Lukić

Prof. Eduard Marušić-Paloka

Assoc. Prof. Borna Lužar-Oberiter

Assoc. Prof. Kristina Pikelj

Prof. Vernesa Smolčić

Organizing Committee

2024 Chairs

Petra Petrović

Marija Purgar Filjak

2024 Committee Members

Ena Dumančić

Daria Gmižić

Lucija Kauf

Toni Kodžoman

Iva Kokotović

Antonija Matek

Tea Ostojić

Laura Posarić

Gaurav Pransu

Ana Ramljak

Ivan Šišak

Nina Tokić

Tea Vasiljević

Organizing Committee Advisors 

Dr. Ivan Biočić

Dr. Zuzana Redžović